2020 conference partners

JOin US!

RETHINK, REFRAME, REFORM VIOLENCE.

This year's annual meeting will take place November 5-6, 2020 virtually on HOPIN!

This year our meeting is a collaboration between the University of California San Francisco (UCSF) School of Nursing, the California Preterm Birth Initiative (PTBI) & the Society of African American Public Health Issues (SAAPHI)

 

The theme of the pre-conference meeting is "Violence By Another Name: RETHINK - REFRAME - REFORM."

 

We invite you to join us for a dynamic conference highlighting some of the unique forms of violence that Black people face in the U.S. that adversely impact health. Our speakers will explore these concepts intersectionally to inform public health knowledge, program development, and policy decisions that can create equity. We call for attendees to Rethink, Reframe, and Reform our current conceptions of violence, their impacts on the health of Black people, and how research can be used to inform policy. This year SAAPHI is collaborating with the University of California at San Francisco (UCSF) School of Nursing and the UCSF California Preterm Birth Initiative (PTBI)

* Complimentary Tickets will only be available to the first 100 students who register.

 

   Student Price: $35.00

   Professional: $50.00

 NOVEMBER 5, 2020

8:00am PDT/11:00am EDT     Networking Open

9:00am PDT/12:00pm EDT     Welcome & Opening Remarks

9:30am PDT/12:30pm EDT     Keynote: Police Brutality

11:15am PDT/2:15pm EDT        Session: The Violence We Endure — Police Brutality

11:15am PDT/2:15pm EDT        Session: The Violence We Endure —  The Economy

1:00pm PDT/4:00pm  EDT      Session: The Violence We Endure — Healthcare Panel

2:30pm PDT/5:30pm  EDT      Day One Closing

Activist%20movement%20protesting%20again

 NOVEMBER 6, 2020

8:00am PDT/11:00am EDT       Networking Open

9:00am PDT/12:00pm EDT      Welcome & Opening Remarks

9:30am PDT/12:30pm EDT       Community and Self-Care — Opening Plenary

11:15am PDT/2:15pm EDT         Call to Action: Reform (Science & Policy) Training

2:30pm PDT/5:30pm  EDT       Policy Networking

2:45pm PDT/5:45pm  EDT       Day Two Closing

KEYNOTE SPEAKER

DR. ALAYSAH SEWELL

Associate Professor, Emory University

Alyasah "Ali" Sewell is Associate Professor of Sociology at Emory University. They are trained as a medical sociologist, a social psychologist, and a social science research methodologist. Their areas of research are in racial inequality, structural racism, health disparities, and social attitudes. They specialize in using multilevel models to connect public policy data on housing and policing inequities with lay reports of health.

© 2020 SAAPHI 

saaphipr@gmail.com  |   PO Box 7712, York, PA, 17404

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Black YouTube Icon